Senate Office Holders & Ministerial Representation in the Senate 45th Parliament • 1 September 2016 • The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Senate Office Holders

President: Senator the Hon. Stephen Parry

Deputy President and Chair of Committees: Senator Sue Lines

Temporary Chairs of Committees:

Senators Back, Bernardi, Gallacher, Ketter, Marshall, O'Neill, O'Sullivan, Reynolds, Sterle and Whish-Wilson

Leader of the Government in the Senate: Senator the Hon. George Brandis QC Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate: Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann Manager of Government Business in the Senate: Senator the Hon. Mitch Fifield Leader of the Opposition in the Senate: Senator the Hon. Penelope (Penny) Wong Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate: Senator the Hon. Stephen Conroy Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate: Senator Sam Dastyari

Ministerial Representation

Ministers	Representing
Senator the Hon. George Brandis QC Attorney-General Vice-President of the Executive Council (Leader of the Government in the Senate)	Prime Minister Minister for Foreign Affairs Minister for Justice Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter-Terrorism Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cyber Security
Senator the Hon. Fiona Nash Minister for Regional Development Minister for Local Government and Territories Minister for Regional Communications (Deputy Leader of The Nationals)	Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Minister for Urban Infrastructure Minister for Health and Aged Care
Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann Minister for Finance (Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)	Treasurer Minister for Revenue and Financial Services Minister for Small Business
Senator the Hon. Nigel Scullion Minister for Indigenous Affairs (Leader of The Nationals in the Senate)	
Senator the Hon. Mitchell (Mitch) Fifield Minister for Communications Minister for the Arts (Manager of Government Business in the Senate)	Minister for Sport
Senator the Hon. Marise Payne Minister for Defence	Minister for Defence Industry Minister for Veterans' Affairs Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC Minister for Defence Personnel
Senator the Hon. Michaelia Cash Minister for Employment Minister for Women Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service	Minister for Immigration and Border Protection
Senator the Hon. Simon Birmingham Minister for Education and Training	Minister for the Environment and Energy
Senator the Hon. Arthur Sinodinos AO Cabinet Secretary	Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science
Senator the Hon. Matt Canavan Minister for Resources and Northern Australia	Deputy Prime Minister Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources
Senator the Hon. Concetta Fierravanti-Wells Minister for International Development and the Pacific	
Senator the Hon. Scott Ryan Minister Assisting the Cabinet Secretary Special Minister of State	Minister for Social Services Minister for Human Services
Assistant Ministers – Designated as Pa Ministers of State Act 1952	arliamentary Secretaries under the
Senator the Hon. James McGrath Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister	
Senator the Hon. Anne Ruston	

Senate Party Leaders

Leader of the Liberal Party: Senator the Hon. George Brandis QC Leader of the Australian Labor Party: Senator the Hon. Penelope (Penny) Wong

Leader of The Nationals: Senator the Hon. Nigel Scullion Leader of the Australian Greens: Senator Di Natale

Leader of the Derryn Hinch's Justice Party: Senator Derryn Hinch

Whips

Chief Government: Senator David Bushby

Deputy Government: Senators David Fawcett and Dean Smith

Chief Opposition: Senator Anne Urquhart

Deputy Opposition: Senators Catryna Bilyk and Senator McAllister

The Nationals: Senator John Williams

Australian Greens: Senator Rachel Siewert

Derryn Hinch's Justice Party: Senator Derryn Hinch

Officers of the Senate

Clerk of the Senate	Dr Rosemary Laing
Deputy Clerk of the Senate	Mr Richard Pye
Clerk Assistant (Committees)	Mr Brien Hallett
Clerk Assistant (Procedure)	Ms Maureen Weeks
Clerk Assistant (Table)	Mr Chris Reid
Usher of the Black Rod	Ms Rachel Callinan

Senators in the Chamber

If the Senators of your State or Territory are not present in the Chamber while the Senate is sitting, it is likely that they are listening to the debate in their offices or attending to their parliamentary work elsewhere in the building.

Duty rosters are drawn up for seats occupied by the President, Chairman of Committees, Ministers, Shadow Ministers and Whips, so that at all times when the Senate is sitting there are Senators 'on duty' in these positions to ensure that the business of the Senate proceeds.

State and Party Representation in the Senate

State or Territory	AG	ALP	FFP	LDP	LP	NATS/ CLP	NXT	JLN	DHJP	PHON	TOTAL
ACT		1			1						2
NSW	1	4		1	3	2				1	12
NT		1				1					2
Qld	1	4			5					2	12
SA	1	3	1		4		3				12
Tas	2	5			4			1			12
Vic	2	4			4	1			1		12
WA	2	4			5					1	12
	9	26	1	1	26	4	3	1	1	4	76

Senator the Hon. Zed Seselja Assistant Minister for Social Services and Multicultural Affairs

Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water